Sights and Sounds from the Hive Mind


Arca - Knot
Arca - Harness
Arca - Fossil
Arca - Feminine
Arca - Anaesthetic
Arca - Coin
Arca - Century
Arca - Mother
Arca - Hallucinogen
Arca - Pinch
Arca - DM True
Arca - Waste
Arca - Pure Anna
Arca - Obelisk

Kayla Cohen, a.k.a. Itasca, is a folk guitarist and songwriter from New York State. She has released several small press CD-rs and cassettes over the past five years, and began recording as Itasca after a move to Los Angeles in 2012. She records at home, taking inspiration from the fringes of LA’s open space and natural land.

On Itasca’s latest full-length, Unmoored By The Wind, Kayla Cohen achieves new levels of clarity and expansiveness. Where 2012’s Grace Riders on the Road reveled in homemade intimacy, Unmoored By The Wind opens to the world, reaching a timeless, near-baroque yearning; each of these eleven tracks burns with a unique vision. At once soft-spoken and virtuosic, Cohen’s fingerpicking mesmerizes, laying gauzy groundwork for vocal work David Keenan rightfully cited as “courtly…dazzling.” It’s a spacious set of songs, one you can wander into, flowing seamlessly between wistful interludes a la Bob Desper and fully-fledged verses of powerful, often beguiling imagery. “Two male shapes are standing/ Shrouded in white cloth” sings Cohen on “Nature’s Gift,” with a plaintive candidness that echoes Sibylle Baier. “They’re looking at me/ Sort of smiling/ Seems as if I’ve called them here.” Cohen’s voice has a windburnt quality reminiscent of Lal Waterson or Collie Ryan, but it’s tempered with sweetness, and on songs like “Colt In Hiding” she realizes an angelic luster. More than ever before, though, Cohen’s confident singing is laid bare; vocals ride on top of arrangements, taking their rightful place in the forefront. The effect is arresting. Cohen has achieved new levels of clarity, while staying true to the seductive ghostliness that has come to characterize her sound.

Pre-Order Here



August/September 2014 by Ruso Quintilius on Grooveshark

"He is better dead, for he is unfit to bear the active intellect of cosmic entity"

" Just passing by "

El Train - Promise I All that Matters
Kaytranada & Sango - Down4U
Sango - BB Don’t Cry
Sango - Maluco
Esta - Baddie
Stwo - Syrup
Flying Lotus - Fall in Love
Flying Lotus - Slow it Down
Dave Sparkz - Ashes to Ashes
Flo Filz - Hinterland
Propo’88 ( Jaz Cornelis ) - Crunch Time
Mr Beatnick - Phat Kat, Lovely ( Re- Edit )
Tom Misch - Got it Going on ft ATCQ
Kan Sano - Whats going on ( Marvin Gaye )
DJ Truffel - Footsteps
Freddie Joachim - Strawberries
BeatChild - Snow Storm
A Tribe Called Quest - Electric Relaxation
Reva DeVito - Kisses
Jazz Spastiks - On a ruff tip
Eddie Moore and the Outer Circle. - Passing By

Artwork by @geodesigns1 (twitter)

Peace & Love


Tycho sunrise DJ set on the Disco Space Shuttle at Burning Man on Friday, August 29th, 2014. Thanks to everyone who made this morning special and of course all my love to everyone at Apogee Camp, best burn yet!

Special thanks to: Nitemoves (Rory O’Connor), Heathered Pearls (Jakub Alexander), Rob Garza, Christopher Willits, Kiyoka, Katie B. , DJ Dane, Clark, the Dusty Rhino crew, Seth, Tobias, and the whole Disco Space Shuttle crew.

Track Listing:

Slag Boom Van Loon - Poppy Seed (Boards Of Canada Remix)
Boards of Canada - Olson
Clark - Tooth Moves
Manitoba - Dundas, Ontario
Atoms For Peace - Dropped
Tycho - Dye
Photek - Pharoah
Ulrich Schnauss - In All The Wrong Places
Tycho - Awake
Bibio - À tout à l’heure
Airbird and Napoleon - In The Zone
Tycho - Awake (Com Truise Remix)
Psychemagik - Cosmic Forest
Cos-Ber-Zam - Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)
Leon Vynehall - Time
Leon Vynehall - Be Brave, Clench Fists
Fort Romeau - Jetée
Dauwd - Lydia
Mirror People - Kaleidoscope (Psychemagik Remix)
Mano Le Tough - Primative People (Tale Of Us Remix)
16 Bit Lolitas - Deep Space Girls (DAVI Remix)
Dauwd - Heat Division
Tycho - L
Lancaster – Beachy Thing
Panama - Destroyer
White Denim - A Place to Start
Washed Out - Amor Fati
Little Dragon - Little Man (Tycho Remix)
Moths - Heart
White Denim - Street Joy

Recycle Culture:

ACE031 - “The Way I Feel”

Out June 2nd @

Other remixes from:
Life Sim: @lifesim
Ana Caprix: @caprix

DOSS’ self-titled EP is out on Acéphale

ACE029 - Doss EP

Limited to 500 Clear / 500 White 12”
High Gloss Sleeve
Download Card

Mapei - “Don’t Wait” - Official Music Video


Mixed this one on a train ride to Portland

Télépopmusik - Smile (Natural High Remix)
Teebs - View Point
Mapei - Don’t Wait
Lane 8 - Every Night
KAASI - Caroline Street
Alina Baraz and Galimatias - Pretty Thoughs
Bonobo - Les LaBas (Bonobo Remix)
Blood Diamonds - Heart
Nora en Pure - You Are My Heart
Eagles For Hands - Holla
Renz - Look Good On Me
Mr. Carmack - WAAAAIT
Kaytranada - Killa Cats
Bibio - Down To The Sound